USA Visa Application in Nigeria | Live and Work in USA

USA Visa Application in Nigeria | Live and Work in USA
USA Visa Application in Nigeria | Live and Work in USA

We understand how frustrated many Nigerian citizens have become as a result of repeated visa application refusals  and have decided to come up with this article to provide easy guide for the teeming number on how to make a successful USA visa application in Nigeria.

All immigrant visas to the United States are processed for citizens and residents of Nigeria at the U.S Consulate in Lagos, not at the U.S. Embassy in Abuja.

Types of Immigration Visas you can apply for

There are basically 5 types of U.S. immigration visas you can apply for, they are:

  • Family-Based Immigration Visa
  • Fiancé(e) Visa
  • Employment-Based Immigration
  • Diversity Visa
  • Returning Resident Visa

1. Family-Based Immigration Visa

Two groups exist under the Family-Based Immigration Visa. They are immediate relatives and family preference, and they are provided under the provisions of United States immigration law, specifically the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).

How to get your Canadian Visa in Nigeria and immigrate to Canada.

2. Fiancé(e) Visa

The fiancé(e) K-1 nonimmigrant visa is for the foreign-citizen fiancé(e) of a U.S. citizen. The K-1 visa permits the foreign-citizen fiancé(e) to travel to the United States and marry his or her U.S. citizen sponsor within 90 days of arrival. After the marriage and before the expiration of the 90 days, the foreign-citizen will, if he wants, apply for adjustment of status to a permanent resident (LPR) with the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). Because a fiancé(e) visa permits the holder to immigrate to the U.S. and marry a U.S. citizen shortly after arrival in the United States, the fiancé(e) must meet some of the requirements of an immigrant visa. Eligible children of K-1 visa applicants receive K-2 visas.

3. Employment-Based Immigration

It is no longer news that every fiscal year (October 1st – September 30th), up to 140,000 employment-based immigrant visas are made available to qualified applicants under the provisions of U.S. immigration law. The employment based immigrant visas are sub-divided into five preference categories. They are:

  • Employment First Preference (E1): Priority Worker and Persons of Extraordinary Ability
  • Employment Second Preference (E2): Professionals Holding Advanced Degrees and Persons of Exceptional Ability
  • Employment Third Preference (E3): Skilled Workers, Professionals, and Unskilled Workers (Other Workers)
  • Employment Fourth Preference (E4): Certain Special Immigrants
  • Employment Fifth Preference (E5): Immigrant Investors

Certain spouses and children may accompany or follow-to-join employment-based immigrants.

4. Diversity Visa

The Diversity Visa (DV) program was established by the Immigration Act of 1990. It provides for 55,000 immigrant visas to be available in an annual lottery, starting in fiscal year 1995. The lottery aims to diversify the immigrant population in the United States, by selecting applicants mostly from countries with low rates of immigration to the United States in the previous five years.

Please note that the Diversity Visa Lottery is no longer available for Nigerians. Only people that were born outside of Nigeria or have parents that were born outside of Nigeria are eligible for this category of visa. If you were born in Nigeria to Nigerian born parents, you are not eligible for the visa lottery. Beware of frauds and scams from fake websites.

5. Returning Resident Visa

Returning Resident Visa is offered to a permanent resident or conditional resident who has remained outside the United States for more than one year, or beyond the validity period of a re-entry Permit, due to circumstances beyond their control, will require a new immigrant visa (called an SB-1) to request re-entry to the United States to resume permanent residence.

It is required that a permanent resident or conditional resident who has remained outside the United States for less than one year, or within the validity period of a Re-entry Permit, but is unable to return to the U.S. due to an expired or lost travel document, should apply for a boarding foil visa to re-enter the United States to resume permanent residence.

How to apply

Generally, USA Vasa Application in Nigeria is made online via the visa application portal.

Visit the Nigeria U.S. Embassy official website and read more about all the Visa categories and their respective application requirements.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like